Skip to main content

Congratulations to ...

Published Apr 27, 2018

Hossein Shokri-Ghadikolaei and Saranya Natarajan, who have recieved awards for their work.

Hossein Shokri-Ghadikolaei

Hossein Shokri-Ghadikolaei

Hossein Shokri-Ghadikolaei from the Department of Network and Systems Engineering was the leading author of the paper winning the 2018 Stephen O. Rice Prize in the Field of Communications Systems for Millimeter wave cellular networks: A MAC layer perspective , IEEE Transactions on Communications, Vol. 63, No. 10, pp. 3437- 3458, October 2015

This award is given to the best IEEE Transaction paper of the Communication Society in the recent years. The motivation is that "this was the first paper providing an integrated view on the Medium Access Control layer issues for millimiter wave cellular networks. Considering the developments in 5G and the role of millimiter waves technology, the importance of this paper will certainly increase in the coming years”, as the Editor in Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Communications has put it. The list of past winners . The co-authors include Dr. Gabor Fodor, of jointly Ericsson Research and Department of Automatic Control.

Saranya Natarajan and David Broman

Saranya Natarajan and David Broman with colleagues.

Saranya Natarajan and David Broman received an “Outstanding Paper Award” for our paper “Timed C: An Extension to the C Programming Language for Real-Time Systems” at RTAS 2018 (one of the top conferences within real-time systems)