Skip to main content

What you have to do when department becomes division

Published Nov 20, 2018

When EECS is divided into six educational areas (departments) at the turn of 2018/2019, there will be a change in terminology. The current use of department will be changed to division and the educational areas will be called departments. The change will mean work both for you as an employee and the school’s professional support.

As of the 1st of January 2019 the following terms apply:

  • Department = Division
  • Educational area (institution in Swedish) = Department

Several of the school’s internal systems will be affected as well as the websites and internal pages. The professional support will update the school’s administrative systems, such as KTH RES and HR+, but as an employee you are also affected by this change.

This is what you have to do before going on Christmas holiday: 

1. Update your profile page

Change the word department to division in names, for example The Division of Automatic Control, and in the running text. This is a good time to have a look through and update your profile page.

If you wish to add what educational area that you belong to, make sure to use the term department.

Read about editing your profile page

2. Update your e-mail signature

Change the word department to division in order to make the department name correct. Also make sure that the signature states the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science instead of any old school names.

Template for e-mail signature


Do you have any questions about the change? Contact

Do you have questions about the department website? Contact the web editor at your department.