Skip to main content

Decision on internal funds for KTH established Research Infrastructures

A total sum of 22,35 MSEK is provided for the call 2021

Published Mar 30, 2021

In order to strengthen the KTH established Research Infrastructures, an internal call for proposals was issued during winter 2020/2021 for this particular funding purpose. In addition to the criteria of the call, the evaluation also took into consideration how the proposed instruments or upgrades contribute to and or strengthen KTH´s leading position in the various research areas.

The KTH President has decided, on advice from the Deputy President, to fund the following KTH Research Infrastructures with administrative funds with the respective sum as below:

Advanced Light Microscopy (ALM)
Funding is granted with 0,85 M SEK. The School co-funds with an additional 0,45 MSEK.

Albanova NanoLab
Funding is granted with 4,5 MSEK for Quantum Technology Hub@ANL (total cost 6,4 MSEK). The School co-funds the additional 30% of the cost.

Funding is granted with 3,5 MSEK for a proposal including Olle Engqvist Foundation as co-financier. For any additional costs, the school should provide co-funding.

Sustainable Power Laboratory (SPL)
Funding is granted with 3 MSEK. No co-funding from the school but the evaluation group underlines the importance of strengthening this research area.

Hultgren Laboratory
Funding is granted with 7 MSEK if a grant from VR (Swedish Research Council) is approved. The school will co-fund with an additional 2 MSEK. If the VR grant isn´t approved, there will be a discussion with the concerned Director on how to proceed.

Odqvist Laboratory
Funding is granted with 2 MSEK. The School co-funds with an additional 0,85 MSEK.

• Electrum Laboratory
Funding is granted with 1,5 MSEK for Sputter for Diamond Like Carbon DLC. There is no co-funding from the school. There is internal co-funding with an addional 1,5 MSEK.

The total sum distributed in the 2021 call is 22,35 MSEK. The grants are available for a period of maximum two years. The applicants from National Genomics Infrastructure (NGI), Visualiseringsstudion (VIC), and Språkbanken Tal did not receive funding in this call.

The proposals have been evaluated by a committee consisting of: Professor Mikael Östling, KTH Deputy President, Professor Annika Stensson Trigell, KTH Vice President for Research, Susanna Pehrson, Head of Unit Strategic Initiatives, KTH Research Support Office (RSO) Professor Gunnar Landgren, Strategic Initiatives, RSO and Malin Hedengran, Coordinator for KTH Research Infrastructures, Strategic Initiatives, RSO.

Did you find this page useful?
Thank you for helping us!
Page responsible:Marianne Norén
Belongs to: KTH Intranet
Last changed: Mar 30, 2021