FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions about KTH OneDrive
Here you will find answers to frequently asked questions about KTH OneDrive
Question: What is KTH OneDrive?
Answer: OneDrive is a file synchronization service in the cloud that is procured by KTH. OneDrive allows you to sync your personal files between computers, phones, and tablets, and to securely share files with colleagues and external employees.
Question: Who can use KTH OneDrive?
Answer: OneDrive will be offered to all employees and active students at KTH as well as anyone who uses the central client platform, KTH Windows (WIKS) and KTH Mac, which is delivered by the IT Department.
Question: How much space do I get at KTH OneDrive?
Answer: You will have access to 5TB at KTH OneDrive but we can allocate more than 5TB for employees if necessary.
Question: What happens to the shared folders/files when a user quits and the KTH OneDrive account is suspended?
Answer: Access to the shared folders /files is lost when the users KTH OneDrive account is closed, due to the information being linked to the user who shared the folder/file.
Q: How big can a file be?
Answer: A file can be up to 250GB large, but we recommend that you use a maximum file size of 20GB as it is easier to upload them to the service.
Q: Who can access my files?
Answer: The files available on OneDrive can be accessed by the people you have shared them to as well as KTH's administrators of the service.
Question: Will the OneDrive client be installed on KTH's platform computers?
Answer: Yes, the OneDrive client will be preinstalled on KTH Windows and KTH Mac. If you cannot find OneDrive in software center or KTH self-service, you can contact KTH IT-Support.
Question: On which platforms is the OneDrive application available?
Answer: The OneDrive client is on Windows, Mac, IOS, and Android.
Question: Is there a client for linux?
Answer: Unfortunately, there is no client for OneDrive. Linux users are referred to the web client.
Question: Who is responsible for the files on OneDrive?
Answer: You as a User of OneDrive are responsible for the information contained in OneDrive.
Question: Does KTH take backup on OneDrive?
Answer: KTH does not backup the files on OneDrive, you as a user are responsible for the files that are on OneDrive.
Question: Can scholarship holders, postdoctoral students access OneDrive?
Answer: If scholarship holders and postdoctoral students are registered in Ladok as students and have received the affiliation student at KTH, they will have access to KTH OneDrive. If they don't get the affiliation student, they won't have access to KTH OneDrive.
Question: How does the funding of OneDrive at KTH look like?
Answer: This service is included in our Microsoft campus agreement.
Question: Will students have access to OneDrive?
Q: How secure is OneDrive?
Answer: All communication to OneDrive is encrypted with SSL and all information stored with OneDrive is encrypted.
Q: What happens to OneDrive if I change my username?
Answer: We do not recommend that you change usernames as it will affect many of the features of OneDrive as well as applications, distribution of files/directories, etc. You can read more about what will be affected when you change your username on the following page, How UPN changes affect the OneDrive URL and OneDrive features .
Q: How long do I have access to OneDrive?
Answer: As long as you are employed at KTH or are an active student at KTH or have any of the following services, KTH Windows/Mac/Linux, you will have access to OneDrive. When the employment or studies are terminated, access to OneDrive is suspended.
Question: Can impersonal accounts have an account in KTH OneDrive, e.g. email@example.com.
Answer: Impersonal accounts such as departments/function addresses etc. cannot have a KTH OneDrive account. Accounts in OneDrive are personal.
Question: Why can't I share links that are publicly available without signing in for more than 180 days?
Answer: For security reasons, we have placed a restriction on shared links that are publicly available without login. These may be distributed for a maximum of 180 days. After the 180 days have passed, the link must be shared again.
We recommend that you share files/folders with people and not make them publicly available without login.
Question: Why is it that when I share information in OneDrive, the default rights are "Can view" and not "Can edit"?
Answer: For security reasons, the default setting is "Can view" when sharing information in OneDrive.
We want users to make an active decision about what access an employee or anonymous person should have to the shared information. We also want to prevent unauthorized manipulation/deletion of information stored in OneDrive.