Skip to main content

Administration of Canvas at KTH

Here you can, among other things, read about how Canvas rooms are created, how users are added to Canvas rooms and which roles have which permissions.

How Canvas rooms are created

For every activity in Ladok that has a specific list of participants (e.g. a course round or an examination opportunity), a room is created in Canvas. The most common are course rooms and examination rooms.

How Canvas rooms are created

How users are added to Canvas

To be able to use Canvas, users must have a Canvas account. How the account is created depends on the user's relationship with KTH. Users are added to Canvas with different roles that have different permissions. Read more below about details regarding routines for each user.

How users are added to Canvas

Roles and permissions

All people in a Canvas room have at least one role assigned to them that decides what their permissions are and what they can do in the Canvas room. This page explains what distinguishes the roles.

Roles and permissions of Canvas users

Routine for old course rooms in Canvas

Course rooms are deactivated 60 days after the course end date and are then still visible but will no longer appear in the Overview. The rooms will be in a read-only state, which means that students will not be able to upload materials and assignments. The purpose of the routine is to make it easier for teachers and students with many course rooms in Canvas to find the relevant rooms.

Routine for old course rooms in Canvas

Restore and recover course content in Canvas

When changes in course content go wrong, courses accidently gets reset or course materials are deleted, there are ways to restore and undo changes in Canvas. You can do a lot yourself, but more complicated recoveries require the involvement of the IT support.

Restore and recover course content in Canvas

Did you find this page useful?
Thank you for helping us!
Page responsible:e-learning@kth.se
Belongs to: KTH Intranet
Last changed: Sep 23, 2021