Election meeting minutes for SCI council

Participants: the list is in the Attachment 1. Chair: Federico Izzo Secretary: Özge Aktas Minute checker : Kian Shaker Date: 15 Dec 2020 Time:16:00- 17:00 Place: Zoom online meeting

- election organization:

Elections were carried out by the nomination committee this year.

We distribute the news for open positions. Nomination committee gathered 10 candidates for the different positions. Only the event organizer position stayed open. And the list of candidates was sent to all PhD students, and the nomination committee gave time until 14th of December to send opinions about the list of the candidates. We as a nomination committee didn't get any objection to the candidate list through email.

-Candidates introduction

The candidates we gathered in the last month are the following: Chairperson: Kian Shaker Vice-chairperson: Andrea Benfenati Webmaster: Clemens Deutsch PADs :

- Solid Mechanics: Magdalena Kaplan
- Vehicle and Maritime Engineering: Clemens Deutsch, Sai Kausik Abburu
- Physics: Andrea Benfenati, Jana Petrović
- Applied Physics: Kian Shaker
- Mathematics: Aleksa Stankovic, Danai Deligeorgaki
- Applied and Computational Mathematics: Federico Izzo, Jevgenija Rudzusika

Andres Benfenati– 2nd year PhD student in theoretical physics. He introduced himself, shared his ideas why he applied for PAD & vice-chairperson position, and his plans to influence the AlbaNova building structure and Physics department.

Clemens Deutsch- 4th year PhD student in Vehicle and Maritime Engineering, he has been a PAD since 2018. He mentioned the importance of having a good website to access all PhD students, and to increase the visibility of the SCI council.

- No more introduction from the candidates, we continue with approving the list.

The chair of the meeting sent a Poll through the zoom, stating: "Do you approve all candidates for the SCI council positions ?" and with <u>unanimity (14/14 votes) the list of the candidates approved by all the participants.</u>

The new council will start meting next year.

Kian Shaker (chairperson) and Andres Benfenati (vice-chairperson) will organize and reach the council for the regular meetings.

Attachment 1 Participant list :

- 1. Özge Aktas (Physics)
- 2. Federico Izzo (Applied math)
- 3. Clemens Deutsch -(V. M. Engineering)
- 4. Aleksa Stankovic (Math)
- 5. Andrea Ludovico Benfenati (Physics)
- 6. Danai Deligeorgaki (Math)
- 7. Gloria Samosir- Guest from PhD Chapter
- 8. Jana Petrovic (Physics)
- 9. Jevgenija Rudzusika- (Applied Math)
- 10. Katharina Zeuner. (Applied Physics)
- 11. Kian Shaker (Apllied Physics)
- 12. Lena Leitenmaier (Applied Math)
- 13. Magda Kaplan (Solid Mechanics)
- 14. Samuel Fromm (Math)
- 15. Yulia Mishchenko- (Physics)