Skip to main content

The academic year

On this page, you will find a short description of how the academic year is divided and the previous, current and future academic years.

How the academic year is divided

The academic year is divided into two, twenty-week semesters. Each semester is divided into two “study periods,” which means that an individual course will generally run half of the semester, or ten weeks. Exams are held at the end of each study period. The autumn semester begins in late August/early September and ends in the middle of January. The spring semester begins in the middle of January and ends in the beginning of June. There is an exam preparation time at the end of each study period for self-study and also for taking re-exams. In Swedish this preparation time is called “eget arbete”.  

Did you find this page useful?
Thank you for helping us!
Belongs to: KTH Intranet
Last changed: Aug 23, 2023