The Group Web as a collaboration space will close 1 October 2026
On 1 October 2026, the final step in the decommissioning of the Group Web will take place. If you are an administrator of a Group Web site, you should therefore begin the process of decommissioning it now.
Review your Group Web site and assess what actions are needed. If the group is inactive, the Group Web site can be deleted. If any content needs to be retained, it should be downloaded and, if necessary, moved to another platform such as Microsoft Teams or SharePoint.
Important dates
-
1 September 2026: The Course Web service will be closed.
-
1 October 2026: The Group Web service will be closed.
-
15 December 2026: The Group Web servers will be permanently shut down.
-
Any remaining material in the Group Web will be archived and can be requested afterwards.
Solutions for the future
The solutions below are based on how you use the group website today.
Collaboration space for university administration or researchers
If you have material for KTH's University Administration in the Group Web such as information, agendas, meeting notes and similar content for collaboration, we primarily recommend moving the content to Microsoft Teams. Read more about Microsoft Teams at KTH .
If you belong to KTH core operations and have a Group Web only for researchers and teachers, contact e-learning@kth.se to discuss possible suitable solutions.
Information for students on the Group Web
For material in the Group Web directed at students, we primarily recommend using Om Kursen (About the Course) . In Om Kursen, the information is searchable—just like in an open Group Web—and it provides a unified place where students can find course information. More information about Om Kursen.
If the material is too extensive, you can get a dedicated space in Canvas where you can structure and publish the content. If you have not been contacted, you can write to IT support yourself and submit a request. More information about KTH’s resource rooms in Canvas .
A Group Web that is not in use
If you have or participate in a Group Web that is not being used, we would appreciate it if you would end your participation. As a participant, you can unsubscribe, or if you are the group's administrator, delete the Group Web. You do it with the "delete group" button that you will find in the group's admin tools. You can access the admin tools by entering "admintools" after the group's URL on the group's home page. Example: https://www.kth.se/social/group/groupname/admintools
By reducing the number of participants and Group Webs, we help save KTH’s resources for storage and archiving.
Support for leaving the Group Web
If you are an administrator or a member of a group website, we would appreciate it if you would review the group's content to select what to export, and then delete the group. By reducing the number of participants and group websites, we help save KTH's storage and archiving resources.
All group websites have an export function and a delete button. Only administrators of a group website can see the functions in the group's admin tool. You can access this tool by clicking on the portfolio icon on the group's home page and selecting "administrera". There you will then be able to choose whether you want to export all or part of the content, or delete the group. When you export, a compressed folder is created with the files you selected and a PDF with information about the group website and the content from all selected pages.
Questions?
-
Contact e-learning@kth.se if you have questions of a pedagogical nature or need support in structuring your content.
-
For general questions about how to get started with Microsoft Teams, contact effektiv-dokumenthantering@kth.se .
-
For technical issues, contact it-support@kth.se .