Skip to main content

EECS' organisation

The School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) consists of four departments, sixteen divisions and eight centers, as well as the University administration's (UA) units. EECS has approximately 1100 employees.

EECS' organisational chart
EECS' organisational chart

Download the organisational chart (pdf 18 kB)

EECS' organisational chart – description

  • The school is led by the head of school, under whom there is a deputy head of school.
  • The head of school works closely with the management council and the school management.
  • The professional support supports the school management and faculty.
  • The school's departments are the Department of Computer Science, the Department of Electrical Engineering, the Department of Intelligent Systems and the Department of Human Centered Technology. Other research infrastructure and centres are also located here.

School management

The School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) is led by a head of School, deputy heads of school, a director of first and second cycle education, a head of future faculty, a director of third cycle education and a head of administration. They work closely with the management concil and the managing heads of administration.

School management

Management council

The school's management council consists of the school management and heads of departments.

Management council


The departments are responsible for first and second cycle education as well as contract education. The divisions are responsible for matters related to research and third cycle education.

Each department is led by a head of department (Swedish “prefekt”) who is charge of planning, budget and quality follow-up related to basic and advanced education within the departments field. The GRU funds are divided on department level and the departments staff courses with teachers from the divisions. The formal responsibility for the teaching staff lies with the divisions. The FoFu-funds and funds for third cycle education are divided on division level.

Departments and divisions 

The University administration (UA)