Routine for old course rooms in Canvas
Course rooms are deactivated 60 days after the course end date. They are still visible but will no longer appear in the Overview. The rooms will be in a read-only state, which means that students will not be able to upload materials and assignments. The purpose of the routine is to make it easier for teachers and students with many course rooms in Canvas to find the relevant rooms.
Course room is set in a read-only state
The course rooms will be deactivated 60 days after the course end date registered in Kopps, just like examination rooms. The rooms will still be visible but in a read-only state for students.
You can see for yourself which courses are completed and read-only. Go to Courses, press All Courses and look under Past Enrollments. There you will find a list of your previous courses.
You can read more about what applies to examination rooms on the page Examination room in Canvas under the heading "Deactivation of examination rooms".
Consequences for students
Students will no longer be able to submit assignments, post in discussion threads or use other Canvas functions in the read-only course rooms. They can still see their assignments, feedback, results and grades.
Consequences for teachers/administrators
The read-only state only applies to students, so teachers and administrators are not affected.
Teachers can reactivate course rooms
If you wish to let a student use a course room after it has been closed, you can reactivate it.
- Go to the course room's Settings.
- Under the Course Details tab, you can change the end date of the course.
Students will then be able to be active in the course room again as before. It can be useful if you as a teacher have a student who will do a (late) submission/completion of the submitted assignment.
Active course rooms will be easier to find
The routine was introduced to help teachers and students to find their active course rooms. This routine is notably relevant for people with several open course rooms. When a course has reached the end date, it will be moved from your active course menu ("Dashboard") to "Past enrolments".
This routine is the same as the one for examination rooms: Examination rooms will get an end date and be in a read-only state .