When an employment ends
Here you will find an IT-related list which is important to consider when an employment ends. The content on the page is for both you who leave KTH, but also for you as a manager if you have an employee whose employment at KTH ends.
Checklist for you who ends your employment at KTH
If you end your employment at KTH, you need to review your KTH account, data, and hardware before you leave KTH.
Handling of data
As an employee, you need to ensure that your supervisor and/or your colleagues have access to relevant research data and other things you handled. To make it clear what does not need to be archived, take care to delete unnecessary data when you make the handover.
- Manage your personal data in your home directory H: and KTH OneDrive, as you will not be able to access them after your account is deactivated. Check with your supervisor about where other data should be stored.
- Put away your private folders and files that you may have stored locally on your KTH computer. Check with your supervisor about where other data should be stored.
- It is important to transfer ownership of shared folders in OneDrive to a colleague, so they can continue working on those folders and files. Contact IT support for guidance.
- Review your profile page, as KTH reserves the right to delete your profile page after your employment at KTH has ended. Read more About profile pages at KTH
- If you are a channel owner in KTH Slack, transfer ownership before you quit. Contact IT Support if you need help.
Handling of the hardware
All KTH owned hardware must be left at KTH. Discuss with your supervisor how your hardware should be managed.
- Reset your work phone and remove KTH accounts, the Google account on Android or the AppleID on iPhone/iPad before returning it to your organization
Remove your personal data from iPhone/iPad (support.apple.com)
Remove Google account from phone (support.google.com)
- You return KTH owned mobile phones and computers to your supervisor or service center at your school, see more below on the schools' related pages.
Handling of your KTH Account
You are responsible for managing all registrations where the KTH account is used, such as logging in to websites, forwarding e-mail, etc.
- Your KTH account including email address will be deactivated. The deactivation takes place at the request of the personnel function at the school. Read more at kth.se/deaktivering to find out what you need to do if you want to continue to be in contact with KTH
- If necessary, move or copy your emails to a private email account. Information can be found at Move e-mail between different accounts .
Checklist when someone ends the employment (relevant to you as a supervisor)
Data in personal home directories, OneDrive, backup systems, etc. will be deleted when the KTH account is terminated. Therefore, it is important that you have access to the data you need, e.g. relevant research data.
Also remember to do the following:
- In order for costs for services and licences not to continue to be charged, they need to be cancelled via the
ITA - Ordering portal
. If you can't do it yourself, an
at the school can help you.
Here are instructions on how to End a Service - Existing Order .
Disposal or transfer of equipment
so that the inventory is correct.
Note! Currently only applies to employees of University Administration(VS) and the ABE school.
- End the mobile subscription so that it will not continue to be charged. Order/Termination - Mobile extension(MEX)/ Regular mobile subscription
- Order KTH account deactivation via
The portal for IT matters
(select “IT services for employees” and then select “KTH account deactivate”).
This is in line with the rector's decision regarding the deactivation of KTH accounts www.kth.se/deaktivering . People who are no longer connected to KTH must not have an active KTH account.