Skip to main content

Posting grades and quiz results

We recommend that students receive their grades when the grading process is complete for an assignment or quiz and that all students receive their grades at the same time. For assignments, this means that you manually post grades, and for quizzes, you also have to restrict the student result view.

The difference between automatic and manual posting

Canvas has two ways to post grades: automatically and manually. Automatic posting means that a student receives their grade as soon as you have set a grade or written an assignment comment. Manual posting means that students only get their grades when you choose to post them.

Grades should be posted manually for assignments with submissions and for quizzes with questions that need to be graded by a person. For example, if the students are to write an essay or upload a file.

Automatic posting should only be used when the grade can be set automatically or when it is natural for students to receive their grades at different times. For example, quizzes that only contain automatically graded questions or an assignment that is used to save the grade on a presentation.

KTH's templates have manual posting as standard

In KTH's course room and examination templates, grades are posted "manually" as standard. You don't need to do anything. If you do not use KTH's templates for some reason, you can easily change the setting to manually posted grades according to the instructions on this page.

How to change the posting of grades

Manually posted assignments are marked with the word "Manual" under the title of the assignment in the Gradebook, while automatically posted assignments are unmarked.

To change how the grades are posted for an assignment, do the following:

  1. Check that the assignment is published.
  2. Go to "Grades" in the course menu.
  3. Place the mouse pointer on the assignment name or navigate to the assignment using the keyboard.
  4. Press the three dots (the options for the assignments).
  5. In the menu, select “Grade Posting Policy”.
  6. Select “manually” or "automatically".
  7. Press “Save”.

If you chose to manually post grades, you can now grade in SpeedGrader and in the Gradebook without disturbing the students. Remember to post the grades when you are done.

Note! Results for quizzes will still be displayed even if you manually post the grades, so remember to restrict the student result view as well.

Post the grades when you are done with the assessment

If you choose to post grades manually, you have actively choose to post the grades to your students.

Note! You can only post grades if there is at least one assignment comment or points/letter grade. If you only grade with annotations or rubrics, you need to comment on at least one student's submission before you can post the annotations or rubric for all students. Usually, you can comment on the test student who is created when you use the Student view, so that no real student is affected.

To post the grades, do the following:

  1. Go to "grades" in the course menu.
  2. Place the mouse pointer on the assignment name or navigate to the assignment using the keyboard.
  3. Press the three dots (the options for the assignment).
  4. In the menu, select “Post grades”.
  5. Choose to post the grades either for "Everyone" or only "Graded".
  6. Press “Post”.

The students will now see their grades and any assignment comments.

How to restrict student result view in a quiz

You can restrict what Canvas shows students after they take a quiz (with New Quizzes), for example so they don't see their score. This is very useful if the automatically calculated result is incorrect, for example if a question in the quiz needs to be graded manually.

Remember that you need to make the setting before the students complete the quiz for it to have any effect.

How to restrict the student result view:

  1. Open the quiz in "build mode", that is, where you can edit the questions.
  2. Go to the "settings" tab that you will find early on the page.
  3. Activate "Restrict student result view".
  4. Optionally specify what to display. For example, you can show the questions and the students' answers without showing scores or if they answered right or wrong.

If you completely hide students' results, they will receive a notification that the quiz has been submitted instead of receiving information about the results. The students will also not see comments you write per question in the quiz.

The restriction can be changed or removed afterwards in the same way you created them. For example, after all students have taken a quiz or after you have graded all submissions in the quiz.

Did you find this page useful?
Thank you for helping us!
Page responsible:e-learning@kth.se
Belongs to: KTH Intranet
Last changed: Dec 12, 2023